Manage users and teams settings

Administrators can view all users and teams created in the Space and further manage some user settings and information via the Space settings page.

Manage user settings

To access user settings: 

  1. Go to Space Settings.
  2. Select User in the User Settings section (left-hand panel).

On the list of users page, the administrator can: 

  • View user’s details, search users, or filter users by role or by team
  • Invite new users to the organization by clicking Add User.
  • Manage user roles and teams on the Organization Settings page by clicking Manage Users on Nulab Apps (*applicable to New plan only).  

To further manage user’s restriction, project access, and other general user settings in Backlog, select the specific user from the list of users and it will redirect you to the User Information page.

Useful tip!

User settings that are managed in Space settings are associated with Backlog such as user restriction, email reports, and project access. Whereas user settings that are managed in Organization Settings, such as user roles and teams, are associated with your organization and is applied across all Nulab cloud products. 

Did you know?

There are some differences in the user information page between the New plan and Legacy plan. For each plan, the different user information that the administrator can edit are described below.

Editing user information (New plan)

For the administrator in the New Plan, below are the user’s information settings you can further edit on this page: 

  • Restrictions
    In addition to user roles and privileges you can restrict the user to “Add issue only” or “View only”.

    Useful tip!

    Restrictions cannot be applied to the administrator role because they have full access to the Backlog space settings.

  • Email Settings
    For managing the user’s email settings. By checking the Receive emails box, it will overwrite the user’s personal email settings and the user will receive email reports and notifications from Backlog.

  • Shortcut Keys
    Checking this box allows the user to use shortcut keys in Backlog.

  • Assign Projects
    For viewing and managing the projects that the user is participating in. To add or remove the user from a project, check or uncheck the project’s box

    Useful tip!

    You can easily add the user to all the projects in your Backlog Space by checking the Check all projects box.

Did you know?

Administrators cannot change the user name, unique ID, email address, and the profile icon of users with Nulab Account information on Backlog.
For Managed Accounts, the user’s information can be managed and edited by the administrator on the Organization Settings page.

Editing user information (Legacy plan)

To edit the settings in the user information page, follow the steps below.

  1. Go to Space Settings.
  2. Select User in the User Settings section (left-hand panel).
  3. Select the specific user whom you wish to manage from the List of Users.
  4. Make changes in the user’s information page and click Submit.

For the administrator in the Legacy Plan, below are the user’s information settings you can further edit on this page:

  • User ID
    You can manage the user’s user ID that is used for @mention tags.

  • Nickname
    This represents their user name in Backlog.

  • Email Address
    To change and update the user’s email address. 

  • Password
    To change user password. Once the user password is changed, administrators are required to inform the user about their new password for their next login.

  • Icon
    To update the user’s profile icon with the default icons provided from Backlog or upload an image from your own folder.

  • Role
    To manage and adjust the user’s role accordingly.

  • Email Settings
    To manage user’s email settings. By checking the Receive emails checkbox, it will overwrite the user’s personal email settings and the user will receive email reports and notifications from Backlog.

  • Mail Encoding
    Select the type of mail encoding for the emails sent from Backlog.

  • Shortcut Keys
    Checking this box allows the user to use shortcut keys in Backlog.

  • Language and Timezone
    Set the language and timezone for the specific user.

  • Teams
    To add or remove a user from a team.

  • Assigned Projects
    For view and managing the projects that the user is participating in. To add or remove the user from a project, check or uncheck the project’s box.

    Useful tip!

    You can easily add the user to all the projects in your Backlog Space by checking the Check all projects box

Did you know?

Administrators cannot change the user ID, nickname, email address, profile icon and password of the user if the user has connected their Backlog user ID to Nulab Account

Manage teams

Administrators can view all the teams created within the organization and manage teams via the Space Settings page. Creating user teams allows you to manage your users  groups and helps you easily add team members to participate in a Project. 

To access team page: 

  1. Go to Space Settings.
  2. Select Team in the User Settings section (left-hand panel).
  3. To further manage team settings, click on Manage Team and it will direct you to the Organization Settings page. 

To learn more about how to manage team settings, refer to the Create and manage team settings support article.

1 people think that it is helpful. Was this helpful for you?

Have a question we didn't answer?

Contact support