Summary of account migration

Summary

For organizations that have already contracted with Nulab Pass, administrators can initiate account migration to migrate their users from Nulab Account to Managed Account easily. 

Do you know?

  • Once an account is migrated to a Managed Account, you cannot revert it to Nulab Account. 
  • Administrators are required to verify the domain first before performing the account migration to Managed Account. 

An account may join a single organization or multiple organizations in Backlog. Figures 1 and 2 below show two different scenarios and give you an overview of how the account migration works in each scenario. 

The left side of Figures 1 and 2 refers to the account perspective, while the right side refers to the organization perspective. When account migration is completed, the changes will reflect as below.

Details

Figure 1

Figure 2

Scenario

When a Nulab Account has only joined a single organization — “Organization 1,” and assuming that the account will migrate to Organization 1 as a Managed Account. 

When a Nulab Account has joined multiple organizations — “Organization 1, 2, and 3,” and assuming that the account will migrate to Organization 3 as a Managed Account. 

Account perspective

Nulab Account

Nulab Account will remain for the user, but the user can no longer access Organization 1 with Nulab Account. 

Nulab Account will remain for the user, and they will use it to access only Organizations 1 and 2. 

Managed Account

A Managed Account will be created with the account profile details from Nulab Account.
The user is required to login to Organization 1 with their Managed Account. 

A Managed Account will be created with the account profile details from Nulab Account.
The user is required to login to Organization 3 with their Managed Account. 

Organization perspective

Account management

Migrated Nulab Account will be changed to Managed Account and is tied to Organization 1.

Migrated Nulab Account will be changed to Managed Account and is tied to Organization 3 only.

Migrated information

All the information from the Nulab Account associated with each of the products to the organization will also be migrated.

All the information from the Nulab Account associated with each of the products to the organization will also be migrated.

User information

When performing account migration, Nulab Account information will be directly migrated to the Managed Account. But some account information (i.e. Unique ID and Profile image) will not be migrated. Therefore, after the migration, users need to update their account information. 

Information that is migrated

Below is the information that is migrated during the account migration process. 

  • Profile information
    • User name
    • User email
    • Language
    • Timezone
    • Appearance (light / dark mode)

  • Organization information
    • The team(s) which the account belongs to
    • User’s role in the organization (e.g. administrator, member or guest)

  • User’s information in the Nulab products
    • E.g. projects they’re participating in for Backlog, diagrams they’ve made in Cacoo, or topics they’ve posted in Typetalk, etc.

Information that is not migrated

  • Profile information
    • Unique ID
    • Profile image

Restrictions during the migration process

Administrators should note a few constraints during the migration process when the accounts are in the “migrating” status.  

  • Changing migrating account details during migration
    When an account is in the migration process, you cannot edit the account’s details such as user name, email, etc. An error message will be displayed when you save the changes. 

  • Changing role or privileges
    Administrators cannot change the migrating account’s user role and user privileges during the migration, including adding or removing the migrating account as Plan Admin.

  • Delete migrating account
    The administrator cannot remove the migrating account from the organization during the migration.

  • Add or remove migrating accounts from a team
    Administrators cannot add nor remove the migrating accounts to/from a team during the migration process. The administrator also cannot delete the team in which the migrating account is currently participating in. 

  • Login to account during migration
    Users are unable to log in to their migrating accounts during the migration. If the user attempts to log in to the migrating account, an error “Your account is temporarily disabled” will be displayed. 
0 people think that it is helpful. Was this helpful for you?

Have a question we didn't answer?

Contact support